Cardholders of certain Qatar Airways credit cards have gained a new option for earning airline rewards on one of their largest monthly expenses. Through the Bilt platform, eligible U.S. holders of the Qatar Airways Privilege Club Visa Signature or Infinite cards can now receive 3 Avios for every dollar spent on rent, up to an annual cap of $50,000. The change adds another avenue for converting housing costs into points that transfer to Qatar Airways Privilege Club and its partners.
The Core Mechanics of the Update
The program allows qualifying cardholders to earn up to 150,000 Avios each calendar year simply by routing rent payments through Bilt. This rate applies only when the specific Qatar Airways cards are used for the transaction. The feature builds on Bilt’s existing partnerships that already let United Airlines cardholders earn 2 miles per dollar and Alaska Airlines Atmos Rewards cardholders earn 3 points per dollar on the same category of spending.
Participants must have an eligible U.S.-issued Qatar Airways credit card linked to their Bilt account. The earnings apply to rent processed through the platform, with the annual limit resetting each calendar year. No other Qatar Airways cards or general Bilt users receive this elevated rate.
Who Qualifies and What the Limits Mean
Only holders of the Qatar Airways Privilege Club Visa Signature Credit Card and the Qatar Airways Privilege Club Visa Infinite Credit Card meet the criteria. These cards must be used directly to pay rent via Bilt for the 3 Avios per dollar rate to apply. Standard Bilt members without these specific cards continue to earn at their usual rates, if any.
The $50,000 annual cap translates directly into a maximum of 150,000 Avios. Rent payments above that threshold receive no additional Avios under this promotion. The structure encourages consistent use throughout the year while preventing unlimited accumulation from very high rent amounts.
How This Option Compares to Existing Programs
The new Qatar Airways rate sits alongside similar rent-earning features already available through Bilt. A quick comparison highlights the differences in earning power and eligible cards.
| Airline Program | Earning Rate on Rent via Bilt | Annual Cap | Eligible Cards |
|---|---|---|---|
| Qatar Airways Privilege Club | 3 Avios per dollar | $50,000 | Privilege Club Visa Signature or Infinite |
| United Airlines | 2 miles per dollar | Not specified in program details | United cards |
| Alaska Airlines Atmos Rewards | 3 points per dollar | Not specified in program details | Atmos Rewards cards |
Each program carries its own redemption ecosystem. Avios earned through the Qatar option can move to partner airlines, including options for premium cabins on long-haul routes. The United and Alaska programs tie rewards more closely to their respective networks and partners.
Fees, Value, and Redemption Considerations
A 3 percent transaction fee is expected to apply, consistent with the structure used for United and Alaska cardholders paying rent through Bilt. At current valuations of 1.4 cents per Avios, the 3 Avios per dollar rate produces a gross return of 4.2 percent before the fee. Net value therefore depends on how effectively the points are redeemed.
Whether the arrangement makes financial sense varies by individual circumstances. Factors include the cost of alternative rent-payment methods, the cardholder’s ability to use Avios for high-value awards, and any other rewards options available for housing expenses. Bilt has positioned the feature as a way to make a major household cost more rewarding over time.
Industry Context and Next Steps
Bilt founder and CEO Ankur Jain noted that housing represents the largest expense for most members and that turning rent into travel opportunities aligns with the platform’s goals. The addition of the Qatar Airways cards expands the range of loyalty currencies that can be earned on rent without requiring a separate payment method.
Cardholders interested in the feature should confirm eligibility directly through their Bilt account and review the full terms before initiating payments. The program remains subject to the annual cap and any updates from the card issuer or platform.






